Mette Edvardsen
Time has fallen asleep in the afternoon sunshine

An intimate reading experience with a living book. A group of performers memorize a book of their choice and together they form a library collection consisting of living books.

The books are passing their time at Sundby Library ready to be booked by you. The book brings its reader to a place in the library or for a walk outside while reciting its content (and possibly valid interpretations) in an intimate one-to-one encounter.

Books you can book:

  • In the Skin of a Lion – Michale Ondaatje (in English)
  • I Am a Cat – Soseki Natsume (in English)
  • Kvinder uden mænd – Shahrnush Parsipur (in Danish)
  • Det store stilehefte – Agota Kristof (in Danish)
  • Sommerbogen – Tove Jansson (in Danish)
  • Elskeren – Marguerite Duras (in Norwegian)

The idea for this library of living books comes from Ray Bradbury’s novel Fahrenheit 451, a future vision of a society where books are forbidden because they are considered dangerous, and that happiness must be obtained through an absence of knowledge and individual thought. The number 451 refers to the temperature at which book paper starts to burn. As books are forbidden in this society, an underground community of people learns books by heart in order to preserve them for the future.

The project began in 2010 by Mette Edvardsen and has toured the world ever since. The library collection contains more than a hundred living books in twelve different languages across Europe and beyond. The project developed into a bookshop, a publishing house, and an exhibition format, and hosted workshops, lectures and talks, and, eventually, a book.

Book your tickets here (30 min per book)


Mette Edvardsen


Time has fallen asleep in the afternoon sunshine




8.23–27.2021, 15:00


6 hours


Sundby Bibliotek, Jemtelandsgade 3, 2300 København


Concept: Mette Edvardsen, with: Amalie Bergstein, Ida Katinka Fridan Pedersen, Lea Vendelbo Petersen, Marit Ødegaard, Mette Edvardsen, Siriol Joyner, production assistant: Cillian O’Neill, graphic design print: Michaël Bussaer, production: Mette Edvardsen/ Athome, co-production: Dubbelspel – STUK Kunstencentrum & 30CC (Leuven), Dance Umbrella (London), Kunstenfestivaldesarts (Brussels), NEXT Arts Festival (Valenciennes, Lille, Kortrijk, Villeneuve d’Ascq), Wiener Festwochen (Vienna), Oslobiennalen First Edition 2019-2021 (Oslo), Dansehallerne (Copenhagen), supported by: Norsk Kulturråd, special thanks to: Bibliothèque royale de Belgique/Koninklijke Bibliotheek van België, title: “Time has fallen asleep in the afternoon sunshine” is a sentence from a book by Alexander Smith appearing in Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury (1953), photos: Silvano Magnone.