With a soft rhythm, four dancers in fluid movement melt into a multi textured entity composed of dance, light, colour and soundscape. In Perceval, we see the sensorial elements before us fragmenting and regrouping into various constellations and mixtures. In delicate costumes, the dancers fold and unfold, they spiral into and out of each other, warping time as they make the space breathe. They arrive at the base from where everything can happen and they each find their way.  

The inspirational source of the performance is taken from the image series by Hilma af Klint titled Parsifal from 1916. Beginning with a dark spiral, the series spans 144 paintings, exploring different levels of consciousness in a narrative about an I and a world without separation.

There are several references in this artwork and one is a reference to the story of Parsifal and the grail myth. The sequenced mythical row of pictures inspired choreographer Louise Mochia into loosely examining it as a visual score, curious to see what the series with its themes could tell us today. In Parsifal, Hilma af Klint works with what emerges from and moves between polarities. The title Perceval (“through this valley”) indicates an incessable movement of something hard absorbing something soft and vice versa. The work appeals to the present with its longing for meaning and connection in a still more complex world.








12.7–9.2022, 19:30


1 hour


Valby Kulturhus, Valgårdsvej 4, 2500 København


Choreographer: Louise Mochia (DK), Dancers: Zen Jefferson (DE/USA), Meleat Fredriksson (DK/SE), Adam Seid Tahir (SE), and Nikoline Due (DK), Composers: Stine Steendorph (DK) and Sven Dam Meinild (DK), Digital visual artist/scenographer: My Lambertsen/SLØR (DK), Light designer: Christoffer Lloyd (SE), Costume designer: Elisabet Stamm (DK), Photographer: Ville Vidø (DK) and Christoffer Brekne (DK/NO), Co-produced 2022 by Bora-Bora - Dance and Visual Theatre and Dansehallerne.

Perceval trailer by Christoffer Brekne

We wish to thank: Jesper Linkis, Karen Linkis, Morten Klinkvort, Vera Koppehel, Gitte Tandrup, Jouni Järvenpää, Rachel Tess, Benoît Lachambre, Ulla Gad, Kasper Egelund, Marie Keiser-Nielsen, and Susanne Martman.